Sharing is caring!

What is NEET?

NEET or national eligibility cum entrance test (UG) is an eligibility exam for students who want to study MBBS and BDS in India. The test is organized by the National Testing Agency (NTA). The ministry of human resource development & Govt. of India is assigned NTA to conduct the examination. NEET exam is a requirement for studying MBBS and BDS in AIIMS, JIPMER, and other institutions in India.

Exam pattern and duration –

To become a doctor in India, the study preparation starts from early ages. The syllabus is designed by the MCI (Medical Council of India) and is comprised of topics from class 11th and 12th. The examination is offline or in other word is paper-based. The containing subjects are physics, chemistry, biology (zoology and botany). There will be 45 questions from each section where it brings to a total of 180 questions.

Subject Questions
Physics 45
Chemistry 45
Biology (Zoology) 45
Biology (Botany) 45
Total 180

 Each question contains four marks. Therefore, if your answers are correct you will get full marks, though for every wrong or multiple answers you will obtain a negative mark. The full mark for this exam is 720. If you don’t attend any questions, there will be no marking considered.  

Marking system Marks
Every correct answer +4
Incorrect answer -1
Multiple answers -1
Not attempted 0

The duration of the test is 3 hours.

Language medium –

NEET aspirants can opt for different languages such as English, Hindi, Bengali, Telegu, Tamil, Assamese, Gujarati, Oriya, Urdu and Kannada. The medium will be selected during applying for the exam. If you choose only English you will get only English booklet, but if you choose any other languages, you will get the bilingual booklet. Remember, if there is any mistake or any ambiguity in the language of the question, the English one will be assumed to be the correct one. Let’s have a look at language booklets distribution’s list in different states-

Medium Availability in the centres
English All exam centres
Hindi All exam centres
Marathi All exam centres in Maharashtra
Bengali All exam centres in West Bengal & Assam
Gujrati All exam centres in Gujrat, Daman, Dadra & Nagar Haveli
Tamil All exam centres in Tamil Nadu
Telegu All exam centres in Andhra Pradesh & Telangana
Kannada All exam centres in Karnataka
Assamese All exam centres in Assam
Oriya All exam centres in Odisha

How many days’ the results are valid?

NEET results are valid only for 1 year if the student wants to study in India. Although if any Indian student wants to study a medical course in overseas, the marks will be valid up to 3 years.

How to book the examination?

log in to  then fill all the information correctly, upload photo and signature then proceed with the fees. After that print the confirmation page.

Is there any age limit?

There is an age limit where the student needs to be a minimum of 17 years old.

What are the exam’s fees? 

There are three categories for the exam fees:

FOR General (UR) Rs.1500/- (INR)
FOR General-EWS/OBC(NCL) Rs.1400/- (INR)
FOR SC/ST/PwD/Transgender Rs.800/-  (INR)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *